The Adventures of Peter and Leisel 4: A Lesson in Love

Peter_and_Leisel_book_4_largeThe Eagle lies badly injured on the ground.

Leisel can’t believe her eyes! What happened to the eagle? Will they survive the danger that lives in Pothering Woods?

Come along on this grand adventure…and learn about God and love along the way.

A DayOne Publication

~      ~      ~      ~      ~

Leisel has been asked to give a special gold feather to her brother Peter. But she wants it for herself, so she hides it in a box. Then she starts wanting one for her very own. So into the woods she goes. She doesn’t realise how her selfishness is making her discontent and not very nice to others. Then she sees a display of sacrificial love, and experiences forgiveness and grace.

I loved how this story brought out Liesel’s unworthiness and the Eagle’s love and grace toward her. It’s a beautiful allegory of us in our sinful state and Jesus love towards us when He laid down His life for us on the cross. This final book of the series is my favourite.

As in the previous books of The Adventures of Peter and Leisel, there are STOP AND THINK sections at the end of each chapter. There is a question about the story for children to answer, and then there is a “What God says in the Bible” verse along with a little devotional about a paragraph long, which I love.

Again there is also the Bible story at the end. This time it is – A LovingChrist_on_the_Cross_silhouette Savior: Mark 15:15-16:8 telling of the Lord Jesus Christ’s death for us at Calvary and His rising again triumphing over sin, death and the grave.

Also in this book there is a section called Real Faith in Jesus Involves – A Step by Step on what it means to become a Christian. This is simply and clearly laid out for children to understand and is great for a parent or even a children’s worker to use in talking through with children what it means to be a Christian – and what it means if you aren’t!

I recommend all four stories are read in order as they build up to this one in the grand finale. It’s a series well worth having in your collection.

Pictures are grayscale. I personally prefer colour but I don’t think children will be too bothered. However, they are nicely drawn and are great addition to the story.

My rating: :) :) :) :) :)

~ Wendy Sparkes ~


Other books in this series:

#1 – A Lesson in Courage

#2 – A Lesson in Obedience

#3 – A Lesson in Honesty


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>